So how did you land that job?!

I’ve had this question asked to me many times, so I thought my first move here should be to answer it:

The Essentials:

  • I am spending a year in Mori, India at Riverside International School
  • I was originally going on a 3-week missions trip through Hope For People Intl. in CA and then got asked by the chairman of the school to stay on longer
  • I will be there May 2014 to April 2015
  • I am taking a year off of school
  • Because of APs, I can still graduate in 2016 (yay!)
  • I will be assisting the principal at the K-10, English-speaking school
  • No, I don’t get paid
  • Yes, I get to wear saris
  • Basically, God is SO good, and I am SO excited to see what this year holds for me!

The Details:

My wonderful friend Melody and I went to the Urbana Missions Conference last Christmas break and decided to say “yes” to wherever God called us. For me, this was to Amsterdam last summer to volunteer at a Christian youth hostel in the heart of the city. For Mel, it was across the opposite ocean to Mori, India to lead a VBS at Riverside International School.

543084_4638948245239_66858919_n

I was so inspired and encouraged by her work there that I decided (within the span of 2 days!) to join her this upcoming summer on her trip back to India. This is when things really got crazy:

Matt (the leader of our group) and Solomon (the Chairman of the school) heard that I was thinking about taking a semester off from Wheaton to travel or work abroad. Both of them are amazing at making connections between people and needs, and so asked me if I would be willing to spend that semester, or ideally year, at Riverside. The great need is that of the principal, who has not had a vacation in 4 years. My help should allow her to finally visit her family, get to the hospital for much-needed treatment, and hopefully relax a bit on the job.

I am in no way qualified for this, and in no way do I deserve any honor. But, I trust that God is leading me to Mori for a reason, and that I can do some ounce of good there.

Thank you to the countless number of you who have encouraged me thus far – I can’t express how much it means to me to have such a wonderful support system.

I don’t yet know my day-to-day activities, but I should have access to wifi and will try to keep this blog updated with prayer requests, fun stories, and pictures (what I have seen so far looks beautiful!)

india1

Thanks for reading! And please comment with questions about anything I may have left out!

Grace, mercy, and peace from God the Father and Christ Jesus our Lord. (2 Thes. 3:16)

Heather

Leave a Reply

