What did I get myself into.

I’m not going to lie. This first day has been hard. Jet lag and heat aside, the reality of poverty has finally hit me. The hovels that lined the narrow road from Rajahmundry were falling apart, and some looked like they had never been properly finished at all. As the inhabitants gawked back at our buses, though, they graced us with their beautiful smiles and reminded me that they too have hopes and dreams, fears and failures. The idea of spending a year in this locale is unnerving to say the least, but I am confident that God has me here for a reason, and that He will continue to give me strength through my amazing support system.

It’s day one, and though I can’t imagine what the end of my time will look like, I am starting to picture my life here. And as scary and different as it might be, I think I will like it.

Thanks for checking in! God bless!
~Heather~

20140525-220558-79558290.jpg

Leave a Reply

